Home > Downloads > Upgrades & Updates

Upgrades & Updates

Quantum Software Solutions periodically releases updates to off-the-shelf software products. Minor updates typically include bug fixes, performance improvements and minor feature enhancements. Minor upgrades are available as free downloads and are denoted by the first of the three components of the version number remaining the same. Major updates, denoted by a change in first component of the version number, may be offered for free, or they may require a license upgrade. Upgrades requiring additional licensing will be clearly marked on the Downloads page.

We always recommend running the latest version available. Our technical support services will often request you to upgrade if you are running an older version, except in exceptional circumstances.

To assist customers in keeping their software up-to-date, the latest versions of our products now have the ability to automatically check for updates, notify you when they become available, and install them automatically if desired. For information on enabling this feature, see the Knowledge Base article.

Installing Software Updates

To manually install a software update, you can download the latest version from the Downloads page, and run the installer. The same files on the downloads page operate both as version upgrades (if you have an existing installation) and 30-day trial versions.

Installing a newer version will automatically upgrade the currently installed version – you do not need to uninstall it manually. All of your settings will automatically be migrated to the latest version automatically.

Performing a Downgrade

Downgrading to an older version is not recommended, except in a specific scenario and under the advice of our technical support services. If you do decide to perform a downgrade, please be aware that while existing settings are usually backwards-compatible with older versions, this is not always the case. We strongly advise contacting our Technical Support services prior to performing a downgrade, to confirm if the existing settings can be migrated back to the older version. Incompatible settings files can cause highly unpredictable behaviour and software instability.

In the case of software products using a database, you will definitely need to contact technical support as it is very unlikely that a downgrade will be possible without manual changes to the database performed by us.

In order to perform a downgrade, you will have to uninstall your current version. This never causes your settings to be deleted unless you explicitly select the "Also remove application configuration settings" option during the uninstall process. For instructions on backing up your configuration prior to uninstalling, please search our Knowledge Base for the appropriate product.